Alabama Home Inspectors Registration Program

 

On January 22, 2004, the Building Commission proposed to amend chapter 170-X-24.05 (License Requirements) and Chapter 170-X-24.06 (Annual License Renewal, Consequences of Failure to Renew). On March 8, 2004, the proposed amendments were adopted. These rules are designed to implement the requirements for home inspection and EIFS licensing enacted by the Legislature in Act 2002-517.  You may obtain copies of the adopted rules at our website www.bc.state.al.us.

 

On August 25, 2004, the Building Commission’s Director permitted interim basis membership to the National Association of Certified Home Inspectors (NACHI). Therefore, an interim basis license shall be sufficient, for professional qualification requirement of ALA. ADMIN. CODE r. 170-X-24-.05(1)(c)(1). However, should the Building Commission ultimately vote not to include the National Association of Certified Home Inspectors (NACHI), to its list of approved professional bodies, membership in and adherence to that body’s ethical standards shall cease to be sufficient for purposes of ALA. ADMIN. CODE r. 170-X-24-.05(1)(c)(1).

 

Home Inspector License Requirements

 

It is MANDATORY to renew your license each year.

 

1).        Notarized home inspector’s application - (MANDATORY)

 

2).        Qualifications -Proof of qualifications in ONE of the categories listed (A – C).

 

3).        Testing Compliance -  Show proof of compliance of American Society of Home Inspectors, Standards and Ethics   Examination, and show proof of compliance of the Examination       Board of Professional Home Inspectors; National Home Inspector Examination.

 

4).        Insurance Coverage - $250,000.00 of errors and omissions insurance coverage IS required; as well as general liability insurance $20,000, $50,000, $100,000. (Yes, the form(s) provided to you by your insurance companies are acceptable. If insurance documents are not submitted with application,your  application  will be returned).

 

5).        Registration Fee - $300.00 made payable to the Alabama Building Commission, Payable with money order, cashier’s check, commercial money order. The Building Commision is unable to accept credit cards, cash, personal or company checks.

 

NOTE: If you do not meet the above requirements for a first time license your application will not be processed .

 

TESTING INFORMATION

            The Standards and Ethics test should be taken online at www.catglobal.com or you may contact Pearson VUE at 1-800-274-8359, for additional information. The National Home Inspector Examination online registration; go to www.psiexams.com or call toll-free 800-733-9267. For additional information pertaining to the testing material of the National Home Inspector Examination please visit, www.homeinspectionexam.org or you may call 1-847-298-7750.

 

As always, I look forward to working with you and for you in the coming years, any questions contact our agency at 334-242-4810.

 

Phyllis Thomas

Home Inspector / EIFS Coordinator

State of Alabama

Building Commission